Commissioners Mark National Police Week

The Lackawanna County Commissioners presented Certificates of Recognition to local law enforcement personnel to mark National Police Week (May 15 – 21) and to express their appreciation for the service and protection officers from all area departments provide to our residents.

L-r, Commissioner Jerry Notarianni, Carl Graziano, Scranton Police Chief; Guy Salerno, Blakely Police Chief and Vice President of the Lackawanna County Chiefs Association; Commissioner Patrick M. O’Malley, and Commissioner Laureen A. Cummings.

Commissioners Honor Dr. Michael DeMichele

The Lackawanna County Commissioners honored University of Scranton history professor Dr. Michael DeMichele, third from left, for his 50 years of service to the school. Dr. DeMichele has authored several articles that were printed in various history and social studies journals. He published a book on the Italian Experience in America and has been recognized by numerous associations for teaching excellence.

L-r, Commissioner Jerry Notarianni, Andrew Wallace, County Chief of Staff and former Dr. DeMichele student; Dr. DeMichele and wife, Rosemary; Commissioner Patrick M. O’Malley, Atty. Donald Frederickson and Atty. John Cerra, County Solicitors and former Dr. DeMichele students; and Commissioner Laureen A. Cummings.

Carlene Nicholas Honored As Champion For Children

The Lackawanna County Commissioners presented a Certificate of Recognition to Carlene Nicholas, center, of EOTC for her recent State award as a “Champion for Children.”

L-r, Mary Cooligan, EOTC; Commissioner Jerry Notarianni, Ms. Nicholas, Commissioner Patrick M. O’Malley, and Angela Siebert, EOTC.