Lackawanna/Susquehanna Office of Drug and Alcohol Programs Hosts Youth Poster Holiday Campaign Reception

On Tuesday, December 13th, a Holiday Reception was sponsored by Lackawanna/Susquehanna Office of Drug and Alcohol Programs, in conjunction with the Lackawanna County District Attorney. The annual event took place at The Scranton Cultural Center, 420 N. Washington Avenue, Scranton, PA. Awards were presented by District Attorney Shane Scanlon to the student poster contest winners. There were over 1,100 entries from 26 Lackawanna County schools, grades 1-12, in this year’s countywide holiday poster contest.

The five high school finalists who were honored at the reception included: Jordan Molinaro, Carbondale Area, Grade 9; Hailey VanLeuven, Carbondale Area, Grade 11; Emily Daley, Carbondale Area, Grade 10; Steve Martin,  Carbondale Area, Grade 11; Brenda Galeno, Dunmore High, Grade 12.

The first-place artwork, which was unveiled at the reception, will serve as the Program’s Holiday Campaign theme. It will be featured in the media, displayed on 3 billboards, 3,000 buttons, and 100 posters throughout the community. The Program will provide the materials to county SADD chapters whose students will display the posters throughout their schools and have the choice of distributing the buttons to share the prevention message or also selling them to further SADD’s prevention efforts at their schools. High School Recognition Winners will be featured on a poster calendar as well.

The Elementary Poster Contest winners will have their artwork displayed as monthly billboards, sponsored by the Lackawanna County District Attorney Shane Scanlon promoting messages for parents and youth on how to reduce underage drinking. First Place winners included: January – Emily Ferguson, All Saints Academy; February – Kristina Tranovich, LaSalle Academy; March – Matthew Tucker; DePaul School; April – Robert Wall, Carbondale Area; May – Trevor Balcerzak, All Saints Academy; June – Marie Takach, LaSalle Academy; July – Megan Fallon, St. Stanislaus; August – Olivia Nepa, LaSalle Academy; September – Amara Lajoie, Riverside East; October – Adrianna Hoover, Riverside East; November – Keira Stofko, Our Lady of Peace; December – Christopher Transue, All Saints Academy.

The prevention messages in the Honorable Mention category will also be featured on monthly billboards. Receiving Honorable Mention awards were: January – Natalia Mazza, LaSalle Academy; February – Gabby Price, All Saints Academy; March – Rogemarie Navarrete, Carbondale Area; April – Maria Belardi, All Saints Academy; May – Hanna Curry, All Saints Academy; June – Emma Egan, All Saints Academy; July – Alyssa Kelly, Our Lady of Peace; August – Jenna Robertson, St. Mary of Mt. Carmel; September – Hannah Moore, Riverside East; October – Leena Conte, Riverside East; November – Emma Triano, St. Mary of Mr. Carmel; December – Lydia Davis, St. Stanislaus.