Lackawanna/Susquehanna Office of Drug and Alcohol Programs Hosts Youth Poster Holiday Campaign Reception

On Wednesday, November 29th, a Holiday Reception was sponsored by Lackawanna/Susquehanna Office of Drug and Alcohol Programs in conjunction with the Lackawanna County District Attorney. The annual event took place at The Scranton Cultural Center, 420 N. Washington Avenue, Scranton, PA. Awards were presented by District Attorney Shane Scanlon to the student poster contest winners. There were over 1,000 entries from 20 Lackawanna County schools, grades 1-12, in this year’s countywide holiday poster contest.

The five high school finalists, who were honored at the reception, included: First Place, Christine Kate DeNucci, Dunmore High School, Grade 10; Second Place, Olivia Carling, North Pocono High School, Grade 11; Third Place, Eugene Hall, Dunmore High School, Grade 12; and Honorable Mention, Annabella Massaro, Dunmore High School, Grade 11; and Jacqueline Cunha, Scranton High School, Grade 10.

The first-place artwork, which was unveiled at the reception, will serve as the Program’s Holiday Campaign theme. It will be featured in the media, displayed on three billboards, and 5,000 buttons throughout the community. The Program will provide the materials to County SADD chapters whose students will display the posters throughout their schools and have the choice of distributing the buttons to share the prevention message or also selling them to further SADD’s prevention efforts at their schools.

The Elementary Poster Contest winners will have their artwork displayed as monthly billboards, sponsored by the Lackawanna County District Attorney Shane Scanlon, promoting messages for parents and youth on how to reduce underage drinking. First Place winners included: January – Lily Kutz, Our Lady of Peace; February – Giovanni Ramos, St. Clare/St. Paul; March – Annie Johnson, Our Lady of Peace; April – Julia Murphy, Carbondale Area; May – Hayley Nolan, Lakeland Elementary; June – Alexis Straw, Our Lady of Peace; July – Chloe Mendicino, Our Lady of Peace; August – Yagandra Kami, John Adams Elementary; September – Anna Millett, Our Lady of Peace; October – Kirstin Murnock, Our Lady of Peace; November – Meredith Baker, St. Mary of Mt. Carmel; and December – Natalina DeNaples, Our Lady of Peace.

The prevention messages in the Honorable Mention category will also be featured on monthly billboards. Receiving Honorable Mention awards were: January – Monica Lam, Our Lady of Peace; February – Rosa Figueroa, de Paul School; March – Grace Osborne, St. Mary of Mt. Carmel; April – Talia Emiliani, Our Lady of Peace; May – Zoey Fawcett, Lakeland Elementary; June – Samantha Greenfield, All Saints Academy; July – Grace Devine, Our Lady of Peace; August – Ruby Rodriguez, John Adams Elementary; September – Allie Romanchick, All Saints Academy; October – Abryana Hewitt, Riverside East; November – Isabelle Normandia, All Saints Academy; and December – Clare Conaboy, Our Lady of Peace.