2018 Field Of Dreams Roster

Rosters for the sixth annual Field of Dreams Game, presented by Lackawanna County, the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders and the Bill Howerton StrikeOut Cancer Foundation, have been set. The event has been expanded this year and will feature a doubleheader as teams from both the Lackawanna League and the Wyoming Valley Conference have been split into small-school and big-school teams that will face off on Sunday, June 24, at PNC Field, beginning with the small-school game at 1:30 p.m. followed by the big school game at approximately 4 p.m.

The Lackawanna League Small-School team will be made up of 16 players, with Mid Valley, Holy Cross, Old Forge and Montrose leading the way with three selections each. Outfielders Mario Bonacci and JJ Glinsky, and pitcher Anthony Colvin will represent the Spartans; catcher Ronnie James, third baseman Joe DeGrazia and second baseman Carson Cacioppo represent the Crusaders; pitchers Mason Boettger and Lorenzo Febbo, and first baseman Patrick Donovan will represent the Blue Devils; and catcher Keith Ely, pitcher Romey Washo and centerfielder Bryden Jerauld represent the Meteors. Also on the LIAA Small-School team are Dunmore shortstop Richie Grippi, Carbondale outfielder Jordan Tolerico, and Forest City pitchers Kyle Shema and Dakota Knehr-Cook.

The Wyoming Valley Conference Small-School team will be made up of 17 players, including four from WVC Division III champion Hanover Area. The Hawkeyes are represented by shortstop Matt Clarke, centerfielder Steven Piscotty, first baseman Brett Stevens and catcher Sean Hart. Also selected for the WVC Small-School team are, MMI Prep pitcher Marc Lobitz and shortstop George Palermo; Northwest pitcher Brandon Hardiman; GAR shortstop Simon Peter and outfielder Ronald Peguero; Holy Redeemer pitcher Sean Wills and catcher Tom Borum; Meyers second baseman Nick Pugh and third baseman Kenny Macko; Wyoming Seminary catcher Mike Oravic and pitcher Sam Sweitzer; and Lake-Lehman third baseman Chris Hadsall and pitcher Henry Selingo. Seminary first baseman Caleb Jerome was also selected to the team but will be unable to play due to an injury.

The Lackawanna League Big-School team will be represented by 16 players, including eight players from District 2 champions Lakeland, North Pocono and Valley View. Lakeland first baseman Matt Hayes leads the Chiefs contingent that includes second baseman Nico Piraino and pitcher Dom Verrastro. The Trojans are represented by pitchers Nate McLain and Cory Wall, and second baseman Mike Kowalski; and the Cougars are represented by outfielder Corey Pezak and pitcher Mason Black. Also on the LIAA Big-School squad are Scranton Prep outfielder Noah Nalevanko; Riverside catcher Peyton Connor and pitcher Tyler Quick; Wallenpaupack shortstop Tyler Kirsten; West Scranton catcher Noah Worsnick and shortstop Shayne Merrifield; Abington Heights pitcher Nick Termini; and Delaware Valley first baseman Brendan Heaney.

The Wyoming Valley Conference Big-School team is made up of 17 players, including four from Dallas, the 2017 PIAA 4A State Champion and two from District 2 6A champ Hazleton. The Mountaineers are represented by pitchers Nick Kocher and Josh Lydon, outfielder Drew Patton and catcher Matt Mathers. The Cougars will send outfielder Christopher Heim and pitcher Cody Reese to the game. Also on the WVC Big-School team are shortstop Austin Sienkiewicz and outfield Jake Packer of Wyoming Valley West, Nanticoke catcher Kris Rynkiewicz; Tunkhannock outfielder Connor Munley; Wyoming Area third baseman Dylan Melberger; Coughlin pitcher TJ Wozniak; Berwick outfielder Jared Marshman; Pittston Area outfielder Kyle Ralston; and Crestwood shortstop Brett Caladie, first baseman Colin Macko and pitcher Corey Chalk.

Scranton High School manager Jamie Higgins will manage the Lackawanna Big-School squad with Holy Cross manager Sandy Menichetti skippering the Lackawanna Small-School squad. The Wyoming Valley Big-School team will be managed by Tunkhannock’s Gary Custer, while Wilkes-Barre GAR’s Kyle Paul manages the Wyoming Valley Small-School team.

Each player named to the team will be honored on the field before the June 21 RailRiders game against Lehigh Valley.

Game sponsors are Lackawanna County, the Lackawanna County Convention and Visitors Bureau, the Luzerne County Convention and Visitors Bureau, The Times-Tribune, The Citizens Voice, the Scranton/Wilkes-Barre RailRiders, Battaglia’s Sporting Goods, and Electric City Baseball.

Admission is $5. A portion of the proceeds go to the Bill Howerton Strikeout Cancer Scholarship Fund.